I Did Not Fall Far

29 Jan

Club Creative Studio was recently interviewed on radio and a few of the questions had to do with my background and how I was raised. We got on the subject of how I came into creativity as a child.  Stating that my background was pretty much typical, I was brought back to the memories of all of the little signs that creativity was going to be a part of my growing years. And, maybe that was or was not to be considered typical after all. It seems maybe I should admit that I did not fall far from the creativity tree.

I told the short story of my father and how our garage walls were adorned with several vignette mural paintings of Disney characters that he painted by hand. Every so often, storage items would be pushed aside so the walls could be touched up with maintenance rituals, or painted over in entirety to change-up the display views.  That was normal to me but, looking back in memory, why did I not know that we had the only home that had that? To me that was typical  I guess.

To mention more of the out-of-the-norm creativity, we were the only people who I knew of that had a HUGE Nebraska Cornhusker Football Helmet painted on the sloped, driveway. I wish I had photos of that now to explain further. This was not ordinary at all! Being huge college football fans of the team, this helmet declared that we were the “really” dedicated ones.  No car could be parked over it on game days, and certainly no oil spills were allowed to damage the painting.  When it needed touch-ups, he had the area roped off, so God forbid any person, neighborhood dog, stray cat, bird, or even an ant cross the path of the wet paint. At night, a stinking spotlight was pointed on the driveway if they won. Now, how embarrassing is that to a little girl? Let me tell you it was.

Everyone knew where we lived because all they had to do was look for the huge painted helmet on the driveway.

Everyone knew where we lived because all they had to do was look for the huge painted helmet on the driveway.

I went on to say that although art was not the field of profession for my parents, they certainly were in touch with their creative sides.  My mom is still creative everyday. Looking back, she was my main role model for trying new creative things. I recall her taking a painting class from one of our neighbors and finally coming home with a really cool painting of a vase of flowers.  This reminds me to ask her if she still has it in her house. She was really proud of her oil painting on slate.

Here is my Mom at one of her sewing machines.

Here is my Mom at one of her sewing machines.

I  call my mom the “Jackie of all trades” I was witness to her many creative artful talents. I remember watching her actually build a faux fireplace for the family room from scratch. It had a rounded shaped wood base on the frame that stood out from the wall so we could sit around it. She lined that with carpet. It included faux bricks that were each strategically placed as well as a focal point of a huge etched mirror with a painted matador  image. Yes, I typed that description correctly.  No matter how gaudy this sounds now, back in the day it was a very unique concept to have. It brought an architectural detail like no other to our home. And it was functional to boot, she inserted electric logs and that baby would cast a great glow and heat as well. It was never considered an eye sore in the least. Imagine that.

I have seem my mom creatively, garden, cook/bake, decorate, craft, paint, draw, can food, make candles, dance, sew, quilt, upholstery, design/construct wedding gowns, and more. It was a creative world that I was brought up in. Why did it take so long to realize that?  In a slight effort to pass along tradition and the bravery to be creative, I guess someday my daughter can remember the times she has seen me do strange and artful things too. The difference today is that she will have plenty of photos as proof of it all.

Making beautiful beads in my workspace: Club Creative Studio, Veronica Campos-Hallstrom

Making beautiful beads in my work space: Club Creative Studio, Veronica Campos-Hallstrom

To view modern-day creations that were probably first sparked by a creative childhood, please visit the website at http://www.clubcreativestudio.com  Isn’t it great to know that creativity can be passed on? Consider following this blog to get updates on ways that you can be creative or appreciate creativity in your world.  Have you been inspired to bring creativity into your life?

6 Responses to “I Did Not Fall Far”

  1. clubcreativestudio January 31, 2013 at 6:41 PM #

    It is true that what is passed on, is encouragement and comfort to be creative in our own skin, when people are watching and when they are not watching.

  2. RAAckerman@Cerebrations.biz January 29, 2013 at 12:40 PM #

    Sorry, Ms. V., I don’t think creativity is passed on… It’s the attitude and the approach that we learn that lets the next generation develop it’s creative bent.. It’s the capability to keep on doing something at which others may look askance, at which others wonder why you think that way…

  3. clubcreativestudio January 29, 2013 at 12:18 PM #

    Deb, thank you for your kind response. I wrote a recent blog about courage to be creative and it is true that we all could stand to step out of our comfort zones when being creative. I guess that is what my parents did when we watched them create. Standing out is something that could describe their creative ventures for sure. In appreciation, it made me a better person… creatively.

  4. clubcreativestudio January 29, 2013 at 12:12 PM #

    You hit a great point Lena, on lending the opportunity to create by supplying materials to be creative with. Although one does not have to go out to buy the latest gadget, brightest stickers, largest selection of markers etc., it is nice to know that we have the option to give “found objects” to children and they will turn their creativity on just as productively. It’s like giving a kiddo and empty box- the creativity can be an endless flow with little cost invested.

  5. Deb Jones January 29, 2013 at 12:07 PM #

    What really jumps out at me is the little phrase, “the courage to be creative”. It does take courage and a willingness to risk falling short of what you hoped to accomplish. I’m sure you and your daughter will have many creative times together, and she’ll grow up celebrating her creativeness. Thanks for a thoughtful post!

  6. hinp January 29, 2013 at 11:44 AM #

    I think it’s great to grow up around creativity, it allows us to be creative too! I love to buy different materials for my children so they can be creative 🙂

Please shout out your views here!

