I Am All Ears!

28 Jan

I am “all ears” to listen to your comments from the Club Creative Studio post today!

How did I miss those ears?

How did I miss those ears?

Club Creative Studio has a continued focus on creativity.  Today’s post explains a few creative happenings from the past and present.

A week ago, while viewing Asian stone sculpture ruins at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, I took a photo of this beautiful stone head. I guess it’s over-all beauty, and facial expression struck me at first in appeal. But, later as I got home, I noticed the obvious aspect of this statue;  the figure’s EARS.  The new revelation may have been in the forefront of my mind as I made many pairs of earrings that particular evening, and had ears on my mind.  Never-the-less, the ears certainly are a focal point of this stone sculpture, agree?

Looking at these ears in my photo gave me the prompt to write on my Facebook business page that I would have loved to sneak a pair of my hand-made earrings on this statue on display at the museum. What an improvement that would make! It also brought to mind the notion that I have not written about how I first got my own pierced ears. I would love to share this story with you.

From what I have been told, I got my ears pierced at the young age of three days! My mother pierced my ears in the same manner that many she knew of that time did in their families. She used ice cubes, a sterile sewing needle, a cut raw potato, red embroidery thread and cotton balls with rubbing alcohol. Without going into gory details, I among many others who went through this same process made it through without infection or turmoil after a few weeks of continual care and applications of rubbing alcohol with cotton balls.  A few weeks later, I was sporting my first pair of gold earring studs.  No, I do not remember any pain what so ever associated from that event. And yes, I still have my pierced ears.

If I had any baby photos in my possession, this is where I would certainly share those. Because I don’t have any on hand, please believe me when I say that I looked adorable with my bling on at such an early age! The craze to add second piercings in ears was high and popular around the time I hit middle school. I was in the eighth grade when I got my double piercing in each ear.  This time and at that age, I went to the mall and got the “piercing gun” shot into my ear lobe. This sounds so painful and crazy to write and say that out loud right now. I wore my second earrings in my ears at whimsy and even to this day, I wear two pair at once at random times when the mood strikes me.  I never got into more piercings or high piercings along my ear or in the cartilage however.

Step ahead with me into my future from that point in time. Having my own daughter in front of me gave me the thoughts that tradition was to rule and she would also have pierced ears at a young age. No, I did not allow my mother or anyone else to pierce her ears with the needle and thread technique at the age of three days but, she did get them pierced eventually. From the ideals of tradition, I wanted my daughter to have pierced ears. The ideas at that time were commonly voiced in opinion that a mother should not make the decision for her child concerning pierced ears. A popular belief and argument expressed was (is) that the child should decide that at a later date for themselves.  Also, I remember hearing “If God wanted you to put holes in your body, he would have placed them there). Many views, many beliefs, many separate decisions to consider when giving permission to alter your child’s appearance.

My husband and I discussed this and we came to a few conclusions. Yes, she could get her ears pierced but, if he was not around to actually see it happen, he would be fine with it.  Well, with permission granted, I thought about when this would happen.  As our children went through their series of childhood vaccinations, it did come to mind that the short crying spurs from those inoculations would also be about the same in duration from the piercing gun method on an ear.

My husband, being in the military, had a short deployment for three months and our daughter was five months old. That was when I took her to the mall with a friend and she got her ears pierced with the piercing gun. She did well and had no problems with them. When my husband returned home from Haiti, the deed was already done. Our daughter had bling on her ears. And we were all fine with it.

For many years when she was older we made our own earrings together. Making earrings for gifts were our shared creative outlets. And we were expressive in wearing earrings everyday.  Today, at nineteen, my daughter still has her ears pierced and enjoys keeping earrings in, and will make them on occasion as well using my supplies in the studio. Over the years we have discussed earrings and on the subject of getting more piercings in her ears she says that she is glad that I got her first pierce but, she is not interested in getting any other holes in her ears.  Time will tell one day if she has her own daughter and what path she will take on this subject. I guess I will wait for that time to come to continue this post.

To view the hand-made earring category collection online from Club Creative Studio, visit the page link below and click on the scroll down tab entitled: Earrings. I create with a variety of beads. All available online earring items are created for pierced ears however, I often make “clip” earrings from special requests. It takes is a small adjustment from me to transform an existing pair into non-pierced earrings or I can create with a custom request in mind. Enjoy!

http://www.clubcreativestudio.com

Dangle earrings are appreciated.

Dangle earrings are appreciated.

4 Responses to “I Am All Ears!”

  1. clubcreativestudio January 29, 2013 at 12:06 PM #

    Carol, you are right, now-a-days there aren’t many who don’t have pierced ears so that is a unique feature to have indeed. I think that the amount of time that a person wears clip-on earrings make a huge difference in comfort. I know of a few adjustments that can be made for the comfort of those when I make them I do know that much. Yes, wearing earrings can be a pain sometimes. I worry that I might get one caught on something or that I will lose one at any given time (that has actually happened) so, I understand the hassle-free advantage of not wearing any earrings at all. I do not wear then while sleeping but, I think that some people do. That is another issue to deal with. Do you know there are “press-on” earrings? Much like “press-on nails”, they are something I would imagine takes getting used to. Thanks for sharing your comments here.

  2. Carol Steinberg January 29, 2013 at 11:36 AM #

    I never got my ears pierced–and I’m not sorry about it. I’m kind of unique in this and find that to be odd. I would not have pierced my daughter’s ears, but I never had one to consider doing it to…but I wouldn’t have considered it! Clip ons tend to hurt though and sometimes I wish I could wear earrings but mostly it would just be one more thing to worry about for me and I don’t need that.

  3. clubcreativestudio January 29, 2013 at 10:22 AM #

    Roni- should I have included all of your descriptions as tags on this post? Thanks for taking tome to read. I really wanted to share these memories.

  4. Veronica (Roni) January 29, 2013 at 9:33 AM #

    What a lovely story Veronica…had depth, thought, fun, frivolity, creativity, responsibility, history, future…nicely put! Thanks for your thoughts. And PS…great name :)) Roni from Food That Sings xx

Please shout out your views here!

