Creativity As Stress Buster

18 Jan

527748_414488068582815_278916238806666_1288271_783683817_n

Believe it or not, being more creative can allow you to also be less stressed.

Having a creative outlet opens your mind and eyes to new and exciting ways to distress.

What’s your creative stress buster?

I use the opportunity to be creative with art on a daily basis. In this TNT (This-N-That) Club Creative Studio post I’d like share ideas why creativity can come to the rescue in times of stress. My personal and business mantra is Be Creative Everyday!  Having this frame of mind has allowed me to use the arts as a means to be expressive and less stressed in my day.

Focus your mind and hands creatively and you are in for an escape (of sorts) of reality. Being creative takes my thought process to a different out-of-the-box, critical thinking stage.   It helps me forget about the other things that are stressors in my life.  When I am creative, my focus changes to thinking in nonconventional means and I allow myself to grant freedoms of imagination and growth from routine.

Being creative sets my mind free from rules and places me in a state of experimentation.  Gifting the opportunity to ask and act upon questions like “what if”. Recently, I had the misfortune of having technical difficulties.  Within two days of each other , I discovered that I laundered my cell phone and the motherboard of my computer was fried. Talk about some bad luck. My technical difficulties were woes that I had to solved quickly so I could get back on track to where I needed to be personally and in my business. Those are stressful times, when you have to worry about a cost associated with a solution, as well as the time you are going to sacrifice to get back to your normal life when there is a challenge in your mist.

Creativity gave me comfort. Creativity was the sweet diversion from my problems.  Creativity gave me something else to concentrate on while I waited for the outsourced help. In this instance, I had gained time to be more creative because I was not directly involved with my main concerns. You can use creativity as a crutch to help you become stronger in critical thinking skills and thinking differently in general. I think that stress become less prominent if you inject some level of creativity into each situation. Creative thoughts sure take the routine out of the day,  allow your personality to shine, and gift others with alternative points of views. We were all meant to be indivuals and I can think of no better way to express uniqueness than to show your creative side. Give the gift of creativity to yourself or others today and find out if it will serve as a stress buster technique for you in the future.

What will you do to inc0rporate creativity into your life by thought and action? You may start by taking on a simple challenge as this: ask the question: “what if…”

10 Responses to “Creativity As Stress Buster”

  1. clubcreativestudio January 19, 2013 at 12:57 AM #

    Glad to know that I am not alone in some thoughts about creativity. Thanks for stopping by the blog!

  2. St. John Studios January 18, 2013 at 3:18 PM #

    Great viewpoint, well said! I actually get kind of crazy when I don’t get creative 🙂
    And you’re so right, getting creative allows me to step away from a stressor, which helps me clarify my thinking for when it’s time to tackle the task at hand.
    xoxo

  3. clubcreativestudio January 18, 2013 at 1:39 PM #

    Cheri, I love to hear when art starts out as a means distraction and turns into art as an attraction! Art certainly can take us away to another realm, I am glad that you have creativity with your camera as an outlet. Keep having fun!

  4. Cheri January 18, 2013 at 8:11 AM #

    This is one of the reasons I participate in a daily photo challenge, because for at least a few minutes every day, I get to think about something other than “real life”. I just get to think about the photo prompt and find a way to express it. Then, when I’m really feeling free with my time, I get to sit down and play around with a few editing tools to spruce it up a little. My pictures will never hang in a gallery anywhere, but I enjoy the moments of creativity they give me.

  5. clubcreativestudio January 18, 2013 at 1:48 AM #

    Rosemary, Congrats for having courage to get in touch with your creative side. Our hidden talents can help us in so many ways. Looks like rediscovering art has helped you gain insight about your creativity and the unlimited joys and friendships. Use it to your advantage.

  6. Rosemary Cunningham January 18, 2013 at 12:57 AM #

    Interesting! I’ve just started the Artists Way for the second time! I had no idea that creativity covered so many things.. in fact I had no idea that I was creative until a group of us started to go out at weekends and part of the activities were pottery and painting. After a 30 year break, I’d forgotton how much I loved doing these and delighted that I could create something others admired!
    Thanks for the inspiration!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Creativity is Expression « Club Creative Studio - February 7, 2013

    […] Creativity As Stress Buster (clubcreativestudio.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Creativity: Where Is It? « Club Creative Studio - January 29, 2013

    […] Creativity As Stress Buster (clubcreativestudio.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Inspired By Creative Quotes « Club Creative Studio - January 26, 2013

    […] Creativity As Stress Buster (clubcreativestudio.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Creativity Takes Courage « Club Creative Studio - January 21, 2013

    […] Creativity As Stress Buster (clubcreativestudio.wordpress.com) […]

Please shout out your views here!

