Q is for Quick

23 Apr

Creating a "quick project" like earrings, allow me to take a break from more time-consuming projects.

Club Creative Studio’s letter focus for the day is “Q”. The letter Q stands for the word quick today.  Although most steps involved in creating our one-of-a-kind beads are not to be considered a “quick” project or process.  It is for this reason, when I am engaged with making clay or glass beads that I often need a break. I try to create something that takes less time so that I can still have a sence of accomplishment at a quicker pace.

Having the option and opportunities to create something quickly can be rewarding for my artistic expression as well as satisfying to a customer’s needs who may like something last-minute.  I am lucky, for example to be able to “whip up” earrings to match any outfit or gift-giving need very quickly because I have the necessary supplies, tools, and skills needed to do so. In today’s mini lesson, I have used store-bought crystal beads and have incorporated my hand-made paper magazine recycled beads in earrings as well to illustrate two very different styles of earrings using the same techniques.

The satisfaction of creating an item from hand is very rewarding. It does not matter if the project is completed in a few steps or if it is more labor intensive. Both processes are a creative experience worth remembering and often times repeating. It is in the repeating that you get your practice time in.  And thus you can create quickly and stress-free.

When I create earrings, they are my “quick fix” projects.  I am able to consider them an easy process because I have had many years of practice creating them.  If you have not tried or have not yet mastered the few steps needed to create simple earrings, give this mini lesson a try to perfect it by repeating the process with practice and added confidence.

Happy Creating!

Tools needed for making earrings.

Please shout out your views here!

