E is for Explore

5 Apr

I started out 2012 with a mantra and theme word for my new year business creations. The word I have a focus on is EXPLORE.

E is for Explore.  The letter topic for the A to Z blog challenge continues.  To help me maintain a visual focus on my mantra word explore, I created a vision board for my new year resolution for 2012. It is a small board but it’s packed with journal inspiration and visual prompts for me to stick to my goals and aspirations. So far, so good. Visual reminders can be valuable in helping one stick to set goals and daily tasks needed to reach those goals in the first place.  Here is a photo of my vision board 2012.

Place your vision board where you will see it often.

The word EXPLORE has particular meaning to me as an artist and personally as well.  It is a word that has reminded me to take the steps to stay out of “routine”, and try new techniques, methods, materials, and approaches. Exploring to me means to not be afraid and try what is not along the beaten path.  The idea of the word gives me permission to fail and not be too bummed about a flopped outcome.  Art gives me the freedom to make and accept mistakes on a daily basis. Exploring what is unknown also gives me the strength to push ahead and see what process, or outcome is yet to be.  Adding key “buzz” words to your board will help keep you focused at a quick glance. I have included phrases and words like: reasons to smile, momentum, oomph, drop your jaw, and oh, yes I can!

Many of the areas on my vision board this year have a space for adding written sections. Along with word prompts in decorative fonts cut from magazines collage-style, I have spaces by which I added my own hand-written words.  This gave me ownership of the words and re-visiting the poster daily gives me the visual reminders of what I want to be accomplishing.  Visualizing means making it happen in our minds first the rest is still up to us to act upon how to make it a reality in the real word scenario.

On the back of my poster, I did something different. I have used the blank back space as a running tab of added information. I have written really small, milestone accomplishments so that I can re-read them and attest to progress made throughout the year.  Documenting and measuring your growth by goals accomplished is very satisfying and make room for steps to remain productive. This is a method of “patting yourself on the back”, after all not everyone knows all of your intentions, dreams and goals. Explore your potential, explore the possibilities you have and explore your strengths and weakness so that you can grow to be the better YOU that you want and hope to be.  What will you do to explore your capabilities today?

2 Responses to “E is for Explore”

  1. clubcreativestudio April 6, 2012 at 8:13 AM #

    Kern, A notebook for goals is also a nice idea- if you look at it often enough to serve as a reminder of them. If I ever kept a “goal notebook” I think that for me, one of the goals would have to be first finding the notebook, and then to actually read through it in review. The best part about a vision board is that it is made to be placed in a prominate place, even if it is small. I have decided to start a tradition and create a vision board each year. I have two completed now and it has also been rewarding to look back on the first board to see what was accomplished and what can still have a focus for the following year(s). Also, it serves as a cool piece of journal art, it is colorful, has specific meaning and it’s light-weight. Perfect inspiration! Good luck creating yours, I hope you are motivated by your own focus on your specific goals, visualizing has power! Thanks for stopping by to discover something creatively useful.

  2. Kern Windwraith April 6, 2012 at 5:21 AM #

    I love your vision board, and I love the concept of visualizing goals in this way. I’ve been thinking about keeping a goals notebook, and I think a vision board would make the perfect companion!

    E for Explore, indeed! Hope you’re having fun with the A to Z Challenge. 🙂

Please shout out your views here!

