I Am In Love With Lampwork

6 Jan

Glass bead makes a fun fish bead by adding elements.

IT’S FEATURE FRIDAY!

Club Creative Studio Hand-Torched Glass Pendant.

Feature Friday is a time when Club Creative Studio Art is highlighted.  This post gives a few hints of what is included in the category within the online storefront called Hand-Torched Glass.  Also known as lampwork, this term refers to “torch” made beads.  Many years ago, before propane and oxygen torches, beads were made over small “wick-type” lamps.  This is where the term “lampwork” originated.  In this post I will share a few photos of how I look when I am working on a glass bead project.  I love working with the torch and the flame.

Glass can be known as being hard or soft. I use “soft glass rods” about the thickness of a pencil.

Veronica Campos-Hallstrom with Italian Moretti Glass rods.

Simply put, the process involves heating the the rods of glass in the flame until the glass begins to “melt” and it becomes soft.  The glass is then manipulated on a stainless steel rod called a mandrel.  The mandrel has been coated to avoid molten glass sticking to it for easy removal once cooled.  The glass is shaped into a bead shape with a variety of colors of glass layered together.  The final step called annealing is done in a kiln which further hardens the bead over several hours.

Club Creative Studio creates Hand-Torched Glass beads.

Enjoy browsing unique hand-torched glass items within Club Creative Studio’s website, as well as other creative one-of-a-kind, festive, fun and functional items incorporating hand made beads created by hand, on the East Coast with Italian Glass and hand-rolled polymer clay. Also check back on the blog for more FEATURE FRIDAY posts, thank you!

Close up: Veronica forming a glass bead with torched glass.

Bead shape being formed with my torch flame and Italian glass.

Please visit: http://www.clubcreativestudio.com

Because glass is so typically delicate, I like to mix that feeling with the boldness of color!

I love creating one-of-a-kind glass beads in my studio!

10 Responses to “I Am In Love With Lampwork”

  1. clubcreativestudio January 8, 2012 at 9:54 PM #

    Thank you Tambre, I love the process and yes, it does require patience. My photographer asked me to smile while I was concentrating, that was pretty hard. That flame is nearly 2000 degrees and I HAVE to have a serious face when dealing with that! I may have one photo where I am laughing, but for the most part, it is a process that calls for deep focus.

  2. clubcreativestudio January 8, 2012 at 9:50 PM #

    Thank you Lynn, for the nice comments. I do have fun making the glass beads. It is always amazing to me to create something different every time I work with molten glass. I got the professional photos taken of me working on the beads so that I could show the process more effectively. Besides being informative, I hope that the fun photos also convey a little bit of my personality. I think they do.

  3. clubcreativestudio January 8, 2012 at 9:44 PM #

    Welcome,PeggyLee. Thank you for stopping by, I am happy that you discovered this blog, fee free to spread the good wortd. I have fun sharing creative information in my spare time from creating hand-made beads. When I lived in Japan, I watched the Ruku artists blow glass and thought it to be amazing. Their very hot fires are more intense than my flame in comparison but, the molton glass has fantastic effects in both techniques.

  4. PeggyLee Hanson January 8, 2012 at 8:30 PM #

    Hi Veronica,
    This is my first stop here. Loved the photos, a very vivid depiction of the process. My husband and I are fascinated with glass-blowing and watch live demos whenever we can at Renaissance Faires, etc. Beautiful jewelry!

  5. Lynn Brown January 7, 2012 at 9:23 PM #

    Very nice Veronica. I used a lot of Lampwork beads when I had my inspirational charm jewelry biz. There was a gal in Michigan and another gal in Washington that could do some fabulous work. Looks like you are very creative as well and always enjoy looking at your beautiful creativity!

  6. Tambre Leighn January 7, 2012 at 6:17 AM #

    I admire the patience you have. Thank you for sharing your artistic process with us. I have an even greater appreciation for the art you do seeing what it takes to create it. Stunning!

  7. clubcreativestudio January 7, 2012 at 4:31 AM #

    Thanks Roy for stopping by and also passing along the information. I had new photos taken of me working on this process and this was the first time that I used her photos in an informative post. I am happy that I have them, sometimes it is hard to explain in detail how a glass bead is made. Visuals always help.

  8. clubcreativestudio January 7, 2012 at 4:24 AM #

    Thanks Roberta, it took me a while to get brave enough to want a 2000 degree flame in front of my face. I mean, let’s face it, that is something that is not normally done on a daily basis. I knew that once I did it, I would be hooked. To me it is amazing that I can transform something new from molten glass. There are so many talents out there and techniques to learn. Right now I am thrilled to keep it low-key and not too complicated with making overly detailed designs. I marvel in the simplicity and focus on a few colors at a time in my small beads. In contrast, they reflect a different style than my clay beads.

  9. Robertabud January 7, 2012 at 2:06 AM #

    Oh they are so lovely. I have always admired glass blowing etc but never been brave enough to try.

  10. RAAckerman @ Cerebrations.biz January 6, 2012 at 6:33 PM #

    Ah, bunsen burners; I still miss my old alcohol lamps (I’m sure my parents- if they were alive- don’t)….
    I sent this one to my client (who makes glass jewelry, as well).

Please shout out your views here!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 848 other followers

