Mondegreens: Color Me Mad, Not Glad

1 Sep

Enjoy this TNT (This-N-That) post.  It deals with creativity on various matters.  This week, it has to do with hearing correctly.

This is a short post about the creativeness of people who have misheard song lyrics (also called mondegreens). Misheard lyrics occur when people misunderstand the lyrics in a song. These are NOT intentional rephrasing of lyrics, which is called parody.   

My husband is guilty of this very often and it absolutely drives me nuts.  I don’t know if the reason behind the misuse of words is truly because he did not hear them right in the first place or because he knows it pushes my buttons and he does it because he likes to see how long it will take for me to correct him.  He often claims that it takes more creativity to sing the wrong words in a song than to actually sing the right words. Afterall… “Anyone can do that!” he protests.

There are several songs that I can focus on with an example of mondegreen usage but, I will focus on the artist Jimmy Buffett in this post.  His music has a fair share of songs that are often the subject of misused words sung in place of his original written lyrics.

Jimmy Buffett Image: westshoretickets.com

Jimmy Buffett’s Funniest Misheard Lyrics:

 Stepped on a Pop Tart….

Stepped on a pork chop…

REAL: Stepped on a pop top

Lookin’ for my log shaker and saw…

Lookin’ for my log shaken assault….

Lookin’ for my lost Digger the dog…

REAL: Lookin’ for my lost shaker of salt.

If you like bean enchiladas getting caught in the rain…

REAL: If you like pina coladas and getting caught in the rain…

But I know, it’s my own Grandpa…

REAL: But I know, it’s my own damn fault.

But there’s boobs in the blender…

REAL: But there’s booze in the blender…

Cheeseburger and a pair of thighs…

REAL: Cheeseburger in paradise…

Smell those shrimp, I’m beginning to barf…

REAL:  Smell those shrimp they’re beginning to boil.

Some people claim that there’s a worm on the brain…

REAL: Some people claim that there’s a woman to blame…

 I hope that you are not one of the believers that have claimed that the misheard words are the real words.  I hope I added a bright spot to your day by pointing out creativity around us caused by us.

Do you know of a song that comes to mind that you have misheard,  and later found out the real words?

Margaritaville
Nibblin on sponge cake
Watchin the sun bake
All of those tourists covered with oil
Strummin my six-string
On my front porch swing
Smell those shrimp they’re beginnin to boil

Chorus:
Wastin away again in margaritaville
Searching for my lost shaker of salt
Some people claim that there’s a woman to blame
But I know it’s nobodys fault

I don’t know the reason
I stayed here all season
Nothin to show but this brand new tattoo
But it’s a real beauty
A mexican cutie
How it got here I haven’t a clue

Chorus:
Wastin away again in margaritaville
Searchin for my lost shaker of salt
Some people claim that there’s a woman to blame
Now I think
Hell, it could be my fault

I blew out my flip-flop
Stepped on a pop-top
Cut my heel had to cruise on back home
But there’s booze in the blender
And soon it will render
That frozen concoction that helps me hang on

Wastin away again in margaritaville
Searching for my lost shaker of salt
Some people claim that there’s a woman to blame
But I know it’s my own damn fault
Yes and some people claim that there’s a woman to blame
And I know it’s my own damn fault

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ue2-ZVxpVjc

Enjoy the UTUBE video of Margaritaville.

4 Responses to “Mondegreens: Color Me Mad, Not Glad”

  1. V. Campos-Hallstrom (@ClubCreativeArt) September 2, 2011 at 4:11 AM #

    Paula- Wikipedia had various explainations for the origin or coining of the word in several different areas so it’s a toss up where the term came from depending on where you came from. What is funny is that after reading the ‘wrong’ words you automaticly forget the ‘right’ words.

  2. Paula Lee Bright September 2, 2011 at 2:24 AM #

    Funny mistakes! I wonder who on earth came up with the term mondegreen? That’s funny too. 🙂

  3. clubcreativestudio September 1, 2011 at 1:34 PM #

    TOO FUNNY- good answer by the way! Went to a concert in PA once and it was a hoot- tail gating and all. Wish I would have taken more photos back then or on second thought maybe not for fear it would be incriminating.

  4. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A.@ Cerebrations.biz September 1, 2011 at 1:24 PM #

    Ah, a fellow Parrothead!
    When my daughter was three, she was initiated to Jimmy Buffet. He conveniently played about 100 miles from our home- an event which we combined with a day at an amusement park. And, she wanted to know why the audience was singing different lyrics- as if each row had their own.
    I just told her they were a little deaf… in reality, they were a lot drunk…
    Thanks for the memories!

Please shout out your views here!

