Open Your Mind-Insert Foot

25 Aug

Do you have an open mind when it comes to shoe function and fashion?  Today’s This-N-That (TNT) post is an explosive concept that I have been seeing for some time now in my workouts in the gym.  Usually, I am not concerned with my fashion or what others are wearing in the gym. But, it is hard to ignore creative and unique shoes on women or men.  These shoes have many changing their views about footwear.

Shoes like these are known as Five Finger Toe Shoes.  Do they look comfortable? I don’t think they look  fashionable but, others may beg to differ.

five-toe-shoes sportsmedinfo.net

Five Finger shoes are said to have many good qualities, so if you agree with the descriptive favorable points you can over-look the fashion.

1. Strengthens Muscles in the Feet and Lower Legs – wearing Five Finger Toe Shoes will stimulate and strengthen muscles in the feet and lower legs, improving general foot health and reducing the risk of injury.

2. Improves Range of Motion in Ankles, Feet and Toes – no longer ‘cast’ in a shoe, the foot and toes move more naturally.

3. Stimulates Neural Function Important to Balance and Agility – when wearing these type shoes, thousands of neurological receptors in the feet send valuable information to the brain, improving balance and agility.

4. Improves Proprioception and Body Awareness – those same neurological receptors heighten body awareness, sending messages about body mechanics, form, and movement.

5. Eliminates Heel Lift to Align the Spine and Improve Posture – By lowering the heel, our bodyweight becomes evenly distributed across the footbed, promoting proper posture and spine alignment.  These type shoes are said to also allow the foot and body to move more naturally.

Vibram Five Fingers Shoes

Find five-finger shoes online or at your favorite sports store.

DISCUSSION:

Do you like the look of these?

Do you believe they are good for your feet?

Would you wear these if the price was right?
 
Do you think the fad will last long?
 
Have you seen anyone in these type shoes lately?
8 Responses to “Open Your Mind-Insert Foot”

  1. clubcreativestudio October 7, 2012 at 2:10 AM #

    Heather: I believe that you deserve a prize for taking time to answer all of those questions! Thank you for your thoughts. I am like you and have a comfort issue with toe-socks, so I probably won’t like wearing these type “shoes”. They look very confining and I think I would walk with stiff-legs because of them. I can’t imagine wearing these “shoes” especially for running. I have seen many people attempt to run in these. They all say that they are comfortable and that they take some getting used to. I think that could be “code” for: “I can’t believe I spent my hard-earned money for these shoes plus they are killing my feet but, I want to look cool.” Runners or not, I think those who have them believe that they are cool-looking.

  2. threadbareart October 6, 2012 at 6:42 AM #

    Do you like the look of these?
    They look cool but are very expensive. They are like any other fad like the earth shoe or the Nike tennis shoe. They will come in and then out and then in again.

    Do you believe they are good for your feet?
    I am not sure what the support inside is like, but if very thin It appears that it would be as jarring as wearing bare feet on pavement

    Would you wear these if the price was right?
    I am wiggly about things around my toes. I had a hard time wearing toe socks in the seventies so this may be a problem for me. I would at least try a pair on for size.

    Do you think the fad will last long? Maybe…as long as there are people with more money that they know what to do with they will be around. After that they will be gone.

    Have you seen anyone in these type shoes lately?Yes. Preppy/yuppy 25 to 35ish men who wear polo shirts and checked shorts. Not runners just fashionistas.

  3. clubcreativestudio August 31, 2011 at 2:20 PM #

    Alrighty then- are you sure YOU are not the shoe sales professional? Thanks for hte added insights. Shoes are hard to judge if something is a passing fad or not. It really does come down to what will fit and feel right for a person. Confort matters but for some there is added performance that is important as well.

  4. clubcreativestudio August 31, 2011 at 2:16 PM #

    Just look for any five finger type shoe search, or go to your area sporting goods store that carries athletic type shoes. You’ll find them to try. Good luck.

  5. clubcreativestudio August 31, 2011 at 2:13 PM #

    I have not shopped around for these. I see many people male and female in the gym running and jumping around in these. A younger girl I spoke to liked them to a point. She foiund that her running style had to change to work with the shoe differently. Others swear by them. I am still not sold because I don’t like my “little piggie”s separated that much. If you have ever worn those five finger style socks you know what I mean. You need time to place each one where they are supposed to go. I want to slip shoes on quickly and jet. Not sure that is what you do with these type shoes. Do your research and look around for their popularity. I have no problems speaking to total strangers about where they get their shoes or if they like them- try that if you see them around.

  6. Hajra August 26, 2011 at 5:56 AM #

    I love shoes and come in whatever kind I need to get information about them as quick as I can ;) Just a little obsessive that way I guess. These shoes haven’t attacked the local markets here as yet, but they sure pretty comfortable. I wouldn’t mind giving them a try no matter how great they claim to be, you ill find out only when you have used them yourselves.

    The five fingers would be so damn cozy in there ;)

    P.S: What about people with the rare sixth finger? And what about people with varied finger sizes. Do they have these in my finger size….

  7. Roberta August 26, 2011 at 4:06 AM #

    I want a pair. They look like they would be comfortable and help my older feet. Will see about finding them online because they are not available down here. Thanks for a cool idea

  8. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A. August 25, 2011 at 2:34 PM #

    My son earned his “pin” money working for one of the best local shoe stores in the DC Metropolitan area (advertisement: Pacers is the place to go, folks). He loved the experience, learned about the shoes, and became my biggest PITA about my choice in sneakers. He wanted me to try these, too! Thankfully, they don’t make them in humongous, flat-foot sizes.
    It’s not that I don’t have an open mind. It’s that I know that I would invariably not have my shoes to protect me as I walk into legs of tables, doorjambs, and the like.
    Besides, I DON’T run. I swim and ride bicycles.
    But, if you have normal feet (not the kind that Bozo the Clown would point to and say- Darned- you have BIG feet), then these are worth a try. My son says so…

Please shout out your views here!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 848 other followers

