Must Be Monday- It’s in the Bag

8 Aug

MUST BE MONDAY –It is a new post that will appear from time to time on a Monday.

Sharing creative information in blog posts are fun.  I enjoy sharing creative tips, project ideas and information on various creative subjects.  I have also found it interesting to research a topic and pass it along to you several times during the week in this blog.

More often than not however, I am strapped for time, as you are as well.  It does after all take time to think of a post idea, write, rewrite, edit, find or take photos and post. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy creating posts and sharing knowledge three times a week.  It also serves as an educational component to Club Creative Studio’s efforts and is part of my Art Education background that I naturally explore.  

Just as it takes time to sit down to post on my end…it also requires you to take time to read these posts. I appreciate  blog followers and occasional readers.  It takes a village to keep the information circle moving. For this reason, I thought that an occasional post on Monday can become the weekly space that I can use as a “Make-Up Post”.  This way, I can still add something to the article line to make-up post for anything not being posted during the busy week.

It is never the case that I don’t have something creative to share it is most likely a case that I have been side-tracked by time, work, travel or life that lands on a Tuesday, Thursday or Friday.  Welcome to the first post of  Must Be Monday.

It’s in the Bag

Be Creative By Making Your Own Snack Bags

This week, I give you a creative assignment that is also beneficial to your health.  While watching a segment of the Dr. Oz show today, Dr.Oz pointed out the obvious when the focus was on the new items out on our store shelves:  100 calorie packages of snacks.  They are easy to use but, per package they are pricey. We can CREATE our own 100 calorie packages for less money, and make them to suit our taste.

He went on to suggest that we may be better off to make our own packages that are 100 calories and avoid all of the added ingredients such as trans fats, sugars and such that are included in those packages.  To create our own 100 calorie snack packages, first it is suggested that you purchase the plastic ziplock bags that are called; SNACK SIZE.  Do not confuse them with the sandwich size bags.  The snack size bags are small enough to fit a small portion of any item.  A healthy portion of anything can then be added to the bags and we can travel easily with them.  Some suggestions for creating your own snack bags may be a combination of what you like to eat that is healthy.  Here is a list of the items that I would include in my snack bags.

  • raisins
  • dried fruit
  • nuts
  • popcorn
  • granola
  • dry cereal
  • pretzels
  • butterscotch flavored chips
  • yogurt covered raisins
  • crackers
  • veggie strips
  • fruit chunks
  • chick peas

As a creative challenge for yourself this week I encourage you to make your own creative snack bags.  Be inventive with what you include as a snack and add a twist to the CREATIVE element by involving  children to decorate the outside of the bags with sharpie markers, or write an inspirational message for your day.  Make your next snack time fun!  Thank you for visiting the first MUST BE MONDAY post. Feel free to post your snack suggestions as well. What have you included in your custom snack bag this week?

Keep visiting us on the other regular post days of  Tuesday, Thursday and Friday as well from time to time. Strive to do as I do at Club Creative Studio: BE CREATIVE EVERYDAY!

6 Responses to “Must Be Monday- It’s in the Bag”

  1. V. Campos-Hallstrom (@ClubCreativeArt) August 9, 2011 at 12:23 PM #

    100 calorie packages are usually individually wrapped snack bags that are also then packed into a box typically just holding a few (5-6) count per box. The contents no matter what the item all contain just 100 calories. There are other ingredients that are not targeted to get your attention of course. It is the price of convience, portability and portion control that is the target market of such items. Bags that I have seen have included cookies, crackers, chips, popcorn, granola mixes, nuts, candies and probably a few more that I can’t recall at this moment. Like making anything yourself or in bulk to your specifications, it can be a money saver.

  2. Roberta August 8, 2011 at 8:50 PM #

    Had not seen these packages down here but love the idea of making your own. And if you make your own, you are unlikely to overdo which I do constantly

  3. clubcreativestudio August 8, 2011 at 6:38 PM #

    I was the utimate mom that put inspirational messages or memos on and in the lunch bags when I made daily lunches for my children attending school. I often drew on the paper bags afterall, any blank surface was just asking to be marked up by anyone with an active, artistic mind. When there was a test or sport event on the same day an outgoing lunch was needed- rest assured that it was recognized and decorated with four leaf clovers or sport-theme drawings for a more festive good luck message. As far as the snack-sized baggies are concerned…I don’t think that size has been around very long. It is perfect for our calorie conscious minds to have a smaller bag for our portion control efforts. I can decorate a plastic bag just as easily as I could a paper bag so- no chance of NOT being able to further embarrass anyone with art or inspirational messages on the go- even today. It doesn’t take much time to be creative in this manner. What better way to express a thought in an unexpected way to accompany a meal or snack?

  4. clubcreativestudio August 8, 2011 at 6:20 PM #

    This method of organizing our food should not take too much of our time to go the extra mile in saving our own calories each day in what we eat. I think that by making our own designs on the zip-lock bag we can make our snacking more personal too. I would like to remind myself of my health goals with a hand-written message of encouragement to myself. I think my next message to place on a snack bag would read…”Who Needs Candy?…NOT ME…I’ve got this healthy snack INSTEAD! Nothing like the ower of suggestion!

  5. Tambre Leighn August 8, 2011 at 4:57 PM #

    What a great idea?! I take a pass on those 100 calorie items because most often they are processed food items plus they add a lot to the price as you mentioned. Your idea means I can buy more cost efficient amounts but still use the tool of the small portion snack bag to have my own healthy and proportionate amounts at my fingertips. Love it!

  6. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A. August 8, 2011 at 4:32 PM #

    Hmm. Didn’t we do this already, when we packed lunches for our kids? So, why haven’t we done it for ourselves? Did we consider ourselves exempt?
    Take Ms. V’s advice! Great post.

Please shout out your views here!

