Creative Corner

2 Aug

It’s Two-Cent Tuesday once again.

Thanks for stopping by. Each Tuesday, I like to focus on creativity around us that is low-cost.

I have mentioned this before: I feel that creativity is all around us. To find it, we need to merely open our eyes and be receptive to the world around us. We need to have an open-mind to search for, discover, appreciate and share what we know as creative.

I have encountered creativity at Western Boulevard, just like many others who live in or near Jacksonville, North Carolina. The creativity that is often found at that corner comes from a single individual. A local man is not inhibited to do what he likes to do dance or display his karate/ninja movements in public. The focus of my blog today, features his creativity. His props are non-existent or low-cost. He often dances shirtless, and sometimes has a radio nearby.

People can see our Jacksonville Ninja with a smile doing a dance, exercise or chi moves on the corner or walking from one destination to another. Today while I was out and about, I saw him twice in one day at different locations. I make it a point to wave because I feel like I know him and I enjoy it when he distracts me from the traffic on the busy road at a red light. He will walk and wave to oncoming cars as if he knows each person in that car personally. He is a friendly fellow. He makes me happy and I am sure that he makes others happy with his creativity on the corner.

If you’d like to see what I often see on the corner of Hwy 17- enjoy the U-Tube video that I found that best describes my buddy from the local newscast. This creativity deserves a second glance because we do not all have the guts to be as individual as he is on a daily basis. Enjoy.

8 Responses to “Creative Corner”

  1. clubcreativestudio August 2, 2011 at 5:46 PM #

    Being entertaining and distracting may be two different things on that occasion. Different strokes for different folks. What would life be like without some type of interesting character to speak of?

  2. clubcreativestudio August 2, 2011 at 5:42 PM #

    He is “living with no reservations”.

  3. coachdiana August 2, 2011 at 5:31 PM #

    Hi Veronica,

    Love that he is doing what he loves regardless of what others think. And guess what, others feel his joy and you feel it too as he makes you happy! Talk about fulfilling and living your life as you want to.

  4. V. Campos-Hallstrom August 2, 2011 at 12:49 PM #

    This is what I feel as well, he is not hurting anyone and at the red lights, he is entertaining. I among many, wave at him or honk their horns for him. I just have to pay attention to the traffic and not forget to drive ahead again once the light changes, if I stop to admire his moves.

  5. V. Campos-Hallstrom August 2, 2011 at 12:45 PM #

    It depends, if you don’t see him on a corner dancing, we may see him other times as he just walks around town and by the main highway. I haven’t seen him dance in the rain but, that doesn’t mean he hasn’t been dancing in the rain in our town. I tend to notice him dancing more when it is warmer. It normally does not get too cold here but, he is really noticed in the summer because he is dancing without his shirt and he is pretty fit.

  6. Tambre Leighn August 2, 2011 at 6:06 AM #

    Love seeing someone share their passion with others unencumbered by worrying what someone might say. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Roberta August 2, 2011 at 5:49 AM #

    Does this happen all year round or only on hot summer days?

  8. Joe Cheray August 2, 2011 at 3:24 AM #

    We have an individual here called “The Lamp Dancer” who mmm performs on random street corners downtown. He definitely raises an eyebrow or two. He is a non violent guy, he just likes to thrust his stuff 😛

Please shout out your views here!

