Sunny Side Up

29 Jul

It’s our Feature Friday Post!

Today, we mention hand-made art by Club Creative Studio as well as touch on the special color highlighted.

Club Creative Studio Image

Today’s title is also the theme of a few samples displayed in this post today.  Recalling the sunny side of life we can think of the color yellow and the theme including the bright yellow sun. 

With the onset of summer-like temperatures in my area, the high ninety degree weather forecast lately have me thinking of the heat from most typical summer days here in North Carolina. 

The sun is a constant reminder of summer and what we love about our summer days.

Along with the discomforts of extreme heat comes the joy we feel from the warmth of a sunny day.  The color yellow just naturally reminds us of a warm smile or nature that has been sun-kissed.  Can you feel the warmth?  Do you have a special connection to the color yellow? 

Club Creative Studio Art in Green & Yellow

Club Creative Studio Art in Purple & Yellow

Club Creative Art in Black & Yellow

Club Creative Art in Red & Yellow

While we consider the color yellow to be a cheerful and warm color, it also has other qualities.

Yellow can also create feelings of frustration and anger. While it is considered a cheerful color, people are more likely to lose their tempers in yellow rooms and babies tend to cry more in yellow rooms. I found this to be an interesting statement when reading it before.

Yellow can also increase the metabolism.

Since yellow is the most visible color, it is also the most attention-getting color. Yellow can be used in small amount to draw notice, such as on traffic sign or advertisements.

How does yellow make you feel? Do you associate the color yellow with certain qualities within your particular life situations? Let me know what you have to say about the like or dislike of the color yellow in your opinions.  I think it would be fun for others to read.

I enjoy the color yellow because of the associations it has with family memories.  My high school colors were green and yellow.  My son’s high school colors were purple and yellow and my daughter’s high school colors were red and yellow. How is yellow a part of your life?

9 Responses to “Sunny Side Up”

  1. V. Campos-Hallstrom (@ClubCreativeArt) August 8, 2011 at 6:50 PM #

    Yes, I agree that yellow is not appealing to everyone to model against their skin. It does however, add a bright burst to some skin tones. Knowing what you like, what what likes you is an important aspect to know when you consider wearing jewerly. This sounds like a good future blog post subject- thank you, Roberta.

  2. clubcreativestudio August 8, 2011 at 6:47 PM #

    I am also reminded of another color in the summer. The color brown comes to mind often with this intense heat for two reasons. First, it reminds me of living in the desert, where the brown sand is practically everywhere and too the color brown looks like the grass and bare spots in the yard. VERY brown around town. This can be a different color to highlight for various reasons.

  3. Jennifer Puckett August 2, 2011 at 4:14 AM #

    That is really interesting! I did not know that about yellow. When I think of yellow, I think of sunshine and sunflowers. I am so glad I painted my son’s room blue though!!

  4. Lynn Brown July 30, 2011 at 10:47 PM #

    Yellow is a bright and fun color. It reminds me of fun summer days. I remember my mom had to have a yellow kitchen, no matter what house she lived in. Not sure what the color yellow has to do with kitchens, but it was bright and cheerful.

  5. Janette Fuller July 30, 2011 at 3:41 PM #

    We have been burning up in Texas all summer. It is hot and very dry. I do like yellow because it is sunny and bright. You jewelry designs are beautiful!

  6. Hajra July 30, 2011 at 11:28 AM #

    We are having hot summers and orange is the color for my summer, because of the scorching heat!

    I love the red and yellow pendant, very vibrant! Very summery!

  7. Maureen Hunter July 30, 2011 at 2:39 AM #

    Ive always found colour to be influential on my mood and my motivation. I find yellow to be a very uplifting and motivating colour, positive and fun. I love the red and yellow pendant, its so vibrant. Oh yes having said that, its gotta be bright yellow, no wishy washy pastels for me – give it to me big and bold!
    Im actually thinking about using colour therapy more in my writing and coaching, its a fascinating topic.

  8. Roberta July 30, 2011 at 2:32 AM #

    Ah poor Roy – today I am wet and cold. Again love the jewellery but yellow looks so bad against my skin I never wear it but I love the designs

  9. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A. July 29, 2011 at 8:59 PM #

    Yes, it’s sunny in the summer. But with the scorching heat we’ve been having- maybe blood red should be a choice. And, that would go very well with your yellows. Like the bottom photo (which I love)!

Please shout out your views here!

