On Your Mark…ers…Get Set…

28 Jun

IT’S TWO-CENT TUESDAY!

On your MARKERS- get set…go!  I love markers and it was a big treat to have them in my possession when I was younger. Back in the day, they did not often last long.  The ink would dry quickly, the caps would not stay secure on top and the colors were limited.

Today’s child (and adult) has a great opportunity to experiment with an array of marker types, permanent, neon, fabric, metallic, pastel, wide, pin point, washable, calligraphy markers, acid free, pre-stamp design markers, expo dry erase markers, clip on markers, even scented markers and the list goes on.

I say, make a small investment and see what the latest item choices are.  You don’t have to buy from an “art store”, you can go to the local discount and bulk stores and pick up a package of markers that can set your imagination into high gear.

Do you need a little push to decide what to do or try with markers as the choice medium?  Maybe the list of suggestions will spark you.

  1. Decorate a fabric kitchen apron with fabric markers
  2. Personalize a pillow case with quotes or decorations
  3. Make a plain t-shirt have more personality by adding simple accent shapes
  4. Extend a photograph’s theme by designing a coordinating photo frame or matt around a photograph
  5. Commemorate/dedicate a sport ball, bat, hat or helmet with signatures and messages for a player or coach
  6. Use an everyday home decor item for transformation with markers such as a lampshade,  napkins, candlesticks, or an umbrella
  7. Make your own coordinating stationery and decorate the envelope or box to match the paper designs
  8. Decorate the inside soles of a pair of flip-flop sandles
  9. In triathlon races, persons are numbered on their arms and legs with permanent markers.  Make it more funky like a tattoo
  10. Design on paper bags for special lunch sacks to use throughout the year

 Have a great time thinking of other simple ways that you can enjoy the use of markers in your projects.  Be sure to check back on each Tuesday for more low-cost creative ideas for you to learn about and perhaps try.  On Thursday and Friday you can continue to read about other creative endeavors.  It is my pleasure to have this blog as a forum to share information, insight and ideas.

You are invited to also browse other creative efforts of Club Creative Studio

Online Storefront page: http://www.clubcreativestudio.com

8 Responses to “On Your Mark…ers…Get Set…”

  1. clubcreativestudio July 1, 2011 at 4:16 AM #

    I am going to have to look up what is meant by the “ritual bread coverings” you spoke about, Roy. It sounds like another subject for a future post.

  2. clubcreativestudio July 1, 2011 at 4:12 AM #

    I found that when my kids or students used the scented type markers, the whole room filled up with the sweet fruit smells of perfumed ink= it was overkill!

  3. clubcreativestudio July 1, 2011 at 4:10 AM #

    Texta/ Sharpie…whatever you want to call them…I do love them all too. I am drawn to extreemly thick and extreemly thin tips. The middle of the road widths don’t give me enough contrasts.

  4. clubcreativestudio July 1, 2011 at 4:02 AM #

    DEFINATELY need those thin tips for that type of artistic expression! Sharpies come in ultra thin colors too. I do wonder just how “thin” a marker can be made. I can think of many projects that I could have used a line the width of a sewing needle but, I don’t think that exists yet.

  5. Leanne Chesser June 29, 2011 at 3:23 PM #

    I love markers! Sharpies are my favorite. I’ve been experimenting with Zentangles lately and I love using various fine-tipped markers for that.

  6. Maureen Hunter June 29, 2011 at 3:27 AM #

    I love getting out the textas and going for gold!

  7. Roberta June 28, 2011 at 7:55 PM #

    Love markers. Almost as good as Lego blocks for reducing stress and exciting creativity. My granddaughter really enjoys her markers

  8. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A. June 28, 2011 at 7:03 PM #

    Here, I thought we’d get another treat re: shoelaces. Now, I have to get an apron!
    Actually, my kids did pillow cases forever (made them into ritual bread coverings and the like). Great ideas for the summer time with kids.
    Thanks, Ms. V

Please shout out your views here!

