Just One Question

26 May

 TNT (This-n-That) THURSDAY is dedicated to blog about “anything” creative. 

This post is very short and consists of just one question.  I also ask for your time in response in comment form.

Please take the time to reflect on your answer.  It will be interesting to me and others if you shared your response to the inquiry in a comment post.  Thank you in advance for giving others a personal perspective.

JUST ONE QUESTION:

What makes you creative or not?

 

19 Responses to “Just One Question”

  1. Samantha Bangayan May 27, 2011 at 6:38 AM #

    That sounds exactly like the reason! It’s the ambiance! =)

  2. clubcreativestudio May 27, 2011 at 3:52 AM #

    Yes, Roberta agreed that there are many aspects that trigger interest in creativity. I have enjoyed reading how people find themselves to be and think creatively. There have been many different takes here in answering the question. I thought perhaps that I might be reading about more specific examples on how someone thinks they (themselves) are creative in their life or not but, it is still interesting to read all of the responses. Thanks for your imput as well!

  3. clubcreativestudio May 27, 2011 at 3:47 AM #

    Great response! I too think that we can be inspired to be creative or “more” creative by our surroundings. Maybe it puts our mind-set in the mood to think and do out of the box?

  4. Samantha Bangayan May 27, 2011 at 2:12 AM #

    Ooh! Great question to reflect on, Veronica! What makes me creative is my surroundings. I always tell people that coming to the Central Andes has made me more creative — I think it’s partly being surrounded by nature, but also because the environment and lifestyle allows me to “do nothing” and have those “a-ha” moments that I never had the time for in a busy city life.

    Thanks so much for asking, V! =)

  5. Roberta May 26, 2011 at 9:25 PM #

    Interesting set of comments. Creativity comes from necessity, inborn, inbred, solution based. Maybe we need to look at what is creativity. And that opens an interesting semantic question.

  6. Melanie Kissell May 26, 2011 at 6:39 PM #

    You’re a doll, Veronica — thanks for that vote of confidence. I’ve thought, many times, of writing a “how-to” manual/book for single moms but I’ll be honest. I’m not so sure I want to re-live those moments. To a great extent, I’m glad they’re behind me. 🙂

  7. clubcreativestudio May 26, 2011 at 6:37 PM #

    Awesome! You supplied such a fun answer! Having the ability to express a gesture that is a unique way of doing, showing, or saying something is a form of creativity. You must have a knack for it!

  8. clubcreativestudio May 26, 2011 at 6:31 PM #

    So, you thought this was a “loaded question, Bonnie? I have loved reading responses from this post, because everyone has touched on a different aspect of creativity. Scrapbooking is another one of those addicting hobbies that combines expressions of creativity, functionality and personality. I do this from time to time as well. I enjoy making my own background papers using real-life objects and the scanner. Also, once I tried digital scrapbooking- that added yet another option to my layout and final page developments. Keep creating it’s a great outlet.

  9. Hajra May 26, 2011 at 6:29 PM #

    Ok, you said we could brag so I am bragging. Coming up with solutions for my patients to help them lead a better more beautiful life is my idea of me being creative.
    Finding the perfect gift every year for thousands of birthdays is what I would say creative, never EVER have I gifted the same thing twice, well I am running out of ideas on that!

  10. clubcreativestudio May 26, 2011 at 6:26 PM #

    Mel- You do know that you have the makings to write a “how to” book on your past survival skills don’t you? Yes, sometimes creativity stems from pure need. Other times, creativity can be from a variety of self expressions. Thanks for your imput.

  11. Melanie Kissell May 26, 2011 at 5:26 PM #

    Oh, I love this question, Veronica!

    Raising four daughters on my own with a total of $50 a week in child support forced me to become very CREATIVE very fast. LOL!

    I don’t have an artistic bone in my body and as I often remark, I can’t draw a straight line with a ruler. But that’s okay. Life holds a myriad of opportunities to be creative — in the way you dress, the way you think, the way you decorate your home, the way you sign a check or a document — the list goes on an on. 🙂

    Melanie

  12. Bonnie - Your Better Living Maven! May 26, 2011 at 4:24 PM #

    Whoa, Veronica..I haven’t had enough coffee yet for these tough questions! lol

    I think the earlier posters are correct. Everyone has a creative side to them. I think what makes people ‘creative’ is being able to access that. Opening your mind, heart and soul up and letting the thoughts out. It can feel very vulnerable to share these creative ideas with other, showcase your work and I think this holds many people back from feeling creative.

    One of my favorite places to be creative is with scrapbooking and boy, the creative juices really start flowing when I have friends to work with.

    Creative people, the ones who just flow with it, aren’t just good at something. I think they are also willing to attempt it no matter the outcome and enjoy the process as much as the product.

  13. clubcreativestudio May 26, 2011 at 1:34 PM #

    Agreed! Thanks for your thoughts! To elaborate…how do YOU claim to be CREATIVE? Do share, enlighten those who do not know what you do for a living.

  14. clubcreativestudio May 26, 2011 at 1:32 PM #

    And Roy…your specialty is? Please share more thoughts…what makes YOU creative? Permission to bragg!

  15. clubcreativestudio May 26, 2011 at 1:30 PM #

    This is a great realization and I know that people can feed off of the creativity of another. Thanks for your insight.

  16. Kristen Robinson May 26, 2011 at 1:13 PM #

    What makes me creative are the people surrounding me. For me, my creativity is more of the ideas and concepts that I would like to execute for my business and other business events. It never fails: an innocent meeting can turn into a brainstorming session.

  17. Veronica Campos-Hallstrom May 26, 2011 at 12:54 PM #

    So,Roy…what specifically makes YOU creative?

  18. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A. May 26, 2011 at 12:48 PM #

    Being creative means finding a solution or an approach that enhances the experience. In art, it would be to provide a design or creation that elicits discussion, happiness or contentment, or even revulsion in the viewer. In science, it is “Occam’s razor”, the simplest solution that solves the problem. In technology, it builds on that science, with design that is clean and elegant.

  19. k.l.stewart May 26, 2011 at 12:43 PM #

    Creativity is in everyone. It’s whether or not we use it and how we use it that makes us creative. Some people are more creative at problem solving, cooking, sports or even things like parenting. These people are just as creative as anyone else, but it’s how they are able to think outside of the box and apply themselves to a situation that makes them creative.

Please shout out your views here!

