My Chocolate Speaks to Me

17 May

IT’S TWO-CENT TUESDAY!

Club Creative Studio takes time every Tuesday to blog about a low-cost creative idea.  There are many things to think about that would fit the theme and keep me on task with this subject.  Today, I write and share the idea that gives freely…the idea that you seek out small pleasures, that leads to bigger rewards highly valuable to you personally.

What makes me think of blogging about how to creatively seek out small pleasures?  It was chocolate that motivated me to do this!

Here is what I appreciated while merely eating chocolate squares now and then for the past few days.  Simple creativity in marketing and passing along the written “feel good” message to the consumer from these candy makers did the job…it did make a difference to me to discover a positive message to associate with the added pleasure of  enjoying each tiny treat.

If you have ever come in contact with the simple pleasures of the chocolate squares of the brand: Dove, you know what I am referring to when I mention the fact that inside every foil covering of the individually wrapped candy, is a nicely worded message printed upon the covering of the candy.  You will happily discover a “pick-me-up” from the printed word or two as you unwrap your chocolate.  It’s a sort of  chance to enjoy the simple pleasure beyond the sweetness of the treat.  You will enjoy the feeling of getting something additional for free…a bonus of sort to enjoying the guilty pleasure of indulging in chocolate.  Well worth it right?  You bet, especially when you read a message  like this:

My Dove brand candy wrapper message

What woman in the world would not want to read a message stating that she was considered GORGEOUS?

What if by chance a man eating the same chocolate square got the same message?  Would he gain satisfaction knowing that he was considered gorgeous from an anonymous written message?
 

What positive up-lifting message would you want to discover in your wrapper?

 
The types of messages my package contained were all positive words written to give a smile like the following from the list:
  • Treat yourself
  • Sing along with the elevator music
  • There’s a time for compromise, it’s called “later”
  • Make “Someday” today
  • Think of something that makes you smile
  • Seek out small pleasures
  • It’s definitely a bubble bath day
 
 
 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “My Chocolate Speaks to Me”

  1. Veronica Campos-Hallstrom May 18, 2011 at 4:25 PM #

    Great wrapper message to pass along! Today, my wrapper said: Do you know what? You look good in red. I considered changing the clothes I had on! Reading these is a bit like opening up a fortune cookie. At some point I just want to open another to see if it will by chance be the same message or even something “better” to read!

  2. Veronica Campos-Hallstrom May 18, 2011 at 4:21 PM #

    “Repeat customer” in my case means that the same customer (me) is going back for more chocolate one square at a time!

  3. Samantha Bangayan May 18, 2011 at 4:01 AM #

    What a cool concept, Veronica! =) I’m a big proponent of enjoying the “small pleasures” you speak of. =) I would love to have my wrapper say: “Give someone a warm hug.” Hugs mean the world to me, given or received! =)

  4. Kristen Robinson May 17, 2011 at 2:43 PM #

    It is a great marketing idea. I think that’s why this product has many repeat customers. They enjoy not only the product but the experience. It made them feel good. And in the end, isn’t that what it’s all about?

  5. Donna B May 17, 2011 at 12:07 PM #

    I just love this post. It’s amazing how eating chocolate could lead to such a positive outlook! I think I’m going to get a bag of Dove today.

Please shout out your views here!

