Mashed Potato Brain Syndrome

22 Mar

image:what'scookingamerica.net

It’s Two Cent Tuesday!

 

Enjoy exploring this low-cost activity to cure the lack of creativity disease.

Do you have or are suspect to get  Mashed Potato Brain Syndrome?  Do you suffer from lack of creative ideas or experience occasional creative blocks? Do you describe your brain as being made of “mush” at any low point of the day? If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, you may identify with claiming the illness: Mashed Potato Brain Syndrome.  Fear not.  There is a known cure for when your brain feels like mush.

 

 

Hints you have Mashed Potato Brain Syndrome:

  • You can not capture or act upon creative urges
  • You describe your brain as “mush”
  • You can’t imagine what will possibly inspire you
  • You would rather sleep or eat some variation of a potato dish than work

There is a creative cure to the disease I call “Mashed Potato Brain Syndrome”.  To challenge your weak spots in gaining or producing creatively, you need to exercise.   Exercising your MIND does allow your brain to stay on top and alert.

You may not always be open to, think or recognize how you can capture your creative energy.  Having a Creative Block is much like what is known to be Writer’s  Block.  There is much debate on the term “writer’s block”.  And the same can probably be said for “artist’s block”.

 I don’t believe in writer’s block. The cure: pick up the pen and get moving. Go, 10 minutes, tell me everything you know about mashed potatoes. — Natalie Goldberg

There… that is at least two cents worth of wisdom.  This low-cost activity will serve as a jump-start to transform the mush brain into an active brain that will spark with creative energy once the ideas start to flow.  What did your list look like?

14 Responses to “Mashed Potato Brain Syndrome”

  1. clubcreativestudio March 25, 2011 at 9:40 PM #

    Wow! Folks this person is not related to me and I did not bribe her with jewelry to suggest this blog to others and pass along such great compliments! It is with great thanks that I approve and appreciate such flattering remarks. I do love what I do and I do strive to share creative information, so happy that I can continue with confidence and continued joy.

  2. clubcreativestudio March 23, 2011 at 12:20 PM #

    It is a fun exercise. Getting your creative juices flowing is fun, even if you don’t have a “block”, it is the challenge that keeps you sharp.

  3. clubcreativestudio March 23, 2011 at 12:19 PM #

    Lynn, I am a bit confussed as to why too much available information would promote writer’s “block”. Do you mean to say that information overload stumps someone from deciding where to actually start? To me, sorting through a variety of information can be overwhelming, it’s true but, it opens so many doors of ideas to try.

  4. clubcreativestudio March 23, 2011 at 12:05 PM #

    You are creative as well Janette so, you don’t need prompts for creativity that’s for sure. I like to offer ideas of exercises like this for someone who feels they could use a spark to stimulate their mind into tapping into the creativity that lies just beyond the surface. It’s always a welcome challenge and fun for me to see how creative I can be on many different levels.

  5. clubcreativestudio March 23, 2011 at 11:59 AM #

    Good for you Diana, on my list I would definately have the word “lumpy” describing what I know about my mash pototoes!

  6. clubcreativestudio March 23, 2011 at 11:57 AM #

    Fun idea and sure to spark interesting lists.

  7. Lynn Brown March 23, 2011 at 3:03 AM #

    I am constantly getting writer’s block because of so much information overload! So Veronica, this is a wonderful post with some great advice.

    Thank you for sharing this tip from Natalie Goldberg. It made my day and I will certainly give it a try!

  8. Sweepy Jean March 23, 2011 at 2:23 AM #

    Lol! I love it! I thank the heavens that I have not had writers block in some time, but I think I will do this exercise anyway because it sounds like fun! :p

  9. Diana March 22, 2011 at 9:37 PM #

    You are super creative and what a great exercise. It’s a dish I can relate too because I make darn good mash potatoes hahaha. Had a good laugh!

  10. Janette Fuller March 22, 2011 at 9:30 PM #

    I make handmade greeting cards. I don’t run out of ideas but I run out of time. Time flies when you are having fun.
    I am not a big mashed potatoes fan but your picture looks very tasty!

  11. Leanne Chesser March 22, 2011 at 7:12 PM #

    Veronica, great post :). It works for writer’s block, for sure. It’s interesting to me that the first thing on my list when I did the activity is that there’s a song about mashed potatoes. Not even food related . . .

  12. clubcreativestudio March 22, 2011 at 4:07 PM #

    You are welcome. Not only have I hopefully sparked an exercise for imagination but, I may have solved the side dish decision for dinner tonight.

  13. Bonnie March 22, 2011 at 3:37 PM #

    I thank you for starting my morning with a bit of a laugh and a smile. Your approach is fantastic. In fact I think two cents for this wisdom is quite a deal. Now..onto what I know about mashed potatoes! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fabulous Finds Fridays! « My Rivendell - March 25, 2011

    […] Veronica is fun and fabulous. Her beautiful art reflects that. Now if you know me at all, you know I love things that are not only beautiful but unique and one of a kind and you’ll find all of that with Club Creative Studio. Pieces that are sure to make you stop and take notice. You can also follow Veronica’s engaging blog. She can introduce you to so much related to creativity. I especially loved her post on “mashed potato brain syndrome!” […]

Please shout out your views here!

