Artistic April Showers?

15 Mar

IT’S TWO CENT TUESDAY!

Club Creative Studio’s Tuesday blog posts always introduce you to a way that you can explore a low-cost creative venue.  You or someone else can use this idea of creativity to better the day.  You don’t have to save this art project for a rainy day but, it would make a great activity for such a time.  The other options are to use this as a creative outlet for expression of an awareness or as a unique gift.

Club Creative Studio, 2010

If where you live you can relate to the saying:  April Showers Bring May Flowers, then you are looking  just around the corner for the rain to start pouring more often.

This pink umbrella was hand-painted with images that represent the theme of  Club Creative Studio’s jewelry making.   I first made a list of all of the items that I use on a daily basis when I create my hand-made jewelry.  The next step involved pencil drawing all of the elements incorporated from that list onto the umbrella. 

With acrylic paints, I hand-painted in all of the areas making a focus on the black outlined

Artist: Veronica Campos-Hallstrom

 areas as part of the design.  Acrylics are an easy clean-up paint and available in a formula especially made for outdoor exposures.

The last step involved an option of applying a final protective gloss coating.  You could easily use a spray acrylic topcoat or do as I did and hand brush an acrylic medium sealant.

This project was on display at the 2010 Coastal Carolina Artists and Crafters Guild Spring Outdoor Craft and Car Show, downtown  Jacksonville, North Carolina.  Among the unique umbrella display, were several themed painted umbrellas that were created  to commemorating the 275th Birthday of Onslow County. 

 The second photo was my contribution to the birthday theme, where all of the items painted are representative as a scene or item highlighted in Onslow county.  It was a fun project.

Artist: Veronica Campos-Hallstrom

This idea was so inexpensive and the whole family was witnessed to the creative process from start to finish.  It was inspirational to my daughter who in her own creative way, wanted to use the same techniques to create a unique birthday gift for her best friend.  Her ideas also came easily and her theme was “friendship”.  She included images that they had in common, as well as inspirational and meaningful quotes, symbols and bright colors to make her birthday special by sharing a hand-made gift that was both fun and functional.  It was a huge thrill to know that the art was worked on over a course of several days to include several hours of work time. 

Hand-painted umbrella gift.

Needless to say she was thrilled to share such a meaningful gift and the birthday girl had never seen such a unique gift.  I was also proud of her creative outcome and the dedication she contributed to the well appreciated gift to her friend.  I must also mention that not only the outside of the umbrella honed her art, the underside was entirely hand-written with a spiraling continuous note of fun wishes and strung sentences that completed the perfect gift.

My daughter gave a great gift!

You are welcome to use this idea.  It can truly be well received in many different gift giving situations.  Are

Artist: M. Hallstrom

 you a “room-parent” looking to include the classroom students in a gift idea for the teacher?  Do you have a friend in the neighborhood that is moving and you want to send them off with an autographed umbrella?  Maybe you just want to be more fashionable the next time it rains and you have to use that boring umbrella you normally use?  Think of this project for your next artful gift.  A note to keep in mind is that umbrellas come in different sizes and you can hunt for a used one or an inexpensive one in a local dollar-theme store.  Happy painting!

12 Responses to “Artistic April Showers?”

  1. clubcreativestudio March 20, 2011 at 4:15 AM #

    Thanks Tambre, we have fun over here!

  2. Tambre Leighn March 20, 2011 at 2:40 AM #

    Fabulous post! Love the great visuals and easy to follow directions plus the personal story.

  3. clubcreativestudio March 17, 2011 at 1:01 PM #

    And, I was thrilled to see the idea catch on with my daughter. She truely gave a gift that no one could ever duplicate. The friend has it as decoration in her room as a reminder of their friendship.

  4. clubcreativestudio March 17, 2011 at 1:00 PM #

    Too funy Roy. I should have approached this as a full-blown challenge and supplied the umbrellas myself to participants so that I could encourage “stick people” artists to spread their wings! It really isn’t as difficult as it may seem or look. Thanks for your comment.

  5. clubcreativestudio March 17, 2011 at 12:57 PM #

    I wish you bravery, Lisbeth. As I said in a reply to Roz, this type of project can be simplistic and still be stunning. Keep it in the back of your mind to try sometime. You know I will happpily post any photos I get from reader efforts!

  6. clubcreativestudio March 17, 2011 at 12:53 PM #

    Roz, To me being “artistic” has nothing to do with creating this project, you can do this just as easily as your daughter could. Painting easy poka-dots, stripes, stars, flowers or overlapping hand-prints can make very appealing art as well. From a simplistic look to more detailed, it wouldn’t matter in the design- it is the creative thought process and the execution of creativeness here that makes you the most proud in completion. Try it ans try it with your daughter!

  7. clubcreativestudio March 17, 2011 at 12:46 PM #

    Thank you Lynn, and if the painted umbrellas are properly sealed with a protective coating, they will last with wear and tear nicely. A hand-painted umbrealla has unlimited possibilities to personalize!

  8. Lynn Brown March 16, 2011 at 5:01 AM #

    Veronica I really enjoy your artistic and creative abilities. These umbrellas are so beautiful and would make wonderful unique gifts.

  9. Roz K Walker March 15, 2011 at 8:58 PM #

    What a great, creative idea! I so wish I were artistic! However, I think it would be a fun idea for an art project for my daughter. She would just love painting on any type of design.

  10. Lisbeth Tanz March 15, 2011 at 4:30 PM #

    I love this idea! I wish I felt brave enough to try it! And I’m with Roy, I’ll buy from you. 🙂

  11. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A. March 15, 2011 at 12:03 PM #

    Your umbrellas are absolutely beautiful. And, if I could paint (the stick figures on the cave walls are about as advanced as I can get) or employ an umbrella (there’s always one in my car for my friends, though), it could inspire me to buy a new umbrella and follow your example. but, that’s why we buy our objects from you- we don’t want to carry an umbrella that looks like the Tsuanmi won!

  12. Kristen Robinson March 15, 2011 at 10:26 AM #

    I thought this was the coolest thing when I saw it at the CCAC Guild show last year. You are truly gifted my friend!

Please shout out your views here!

