FEATURE FRIDAY- Picture This

11 Mar

IT’S FEATURE FRIDAY!

Club Creative Studio welcomes you to this blog.  This is a place where creative ideas are shared through art.  Feature Friday highlights an item that shows innovation and expresses creativity.  In this blog you may gain insight to the creative process, and  find meaning behind our artisan items.

Today is a little different from most Feature Friday posts.  I am not showcasing a hand-made item however, I am sharing a story about a creative process.

Veronica Campos-Hallstrom

For some time now, I have been wanting to get a professional photograph to update my profile photos in my social media accounts such as Facebook and Twitter.  If you are like me, you like to take photos of others but, being in front of the camera is not the most comfortable or common place to linger.

I know that many people don’t care to be in front of the camera. If you are in need of a new photo for identity purposes it is a good idea to do a bit of planning so that you have an end product you are happy with and are proud to be photograph.

I would like to share the many considerations that I made in my preparations.  Use my information as creative tips to gain the results that you want in your future profile photo updates.

1. Photographer  Consider your photographer. If you have a friend take your photos, make sure that they can be trusted to focus the camera and  listen to your suggestions.  If you hire a professional photographer, the “trust factor” may be built-in but, you want to research their style and price range to make sure there are no hidden costs and their policies are clear upfront so you are not disappointed in the end.

2. Clothing – Know the look and style that you want to convey beforehand so that camera time is not wasted and you have a variety to pick from with the theme that you want.  Know what your background will be so that you are the focal point and your clothes do not clash.  If you are placing the photo on your business website, make sure the colors coordinate and the style of the photo compliments it.

3. Ham it up- Enjoy the focus on YOU and you will automatically have a spontaneous expression. You are more likely to strike an interesting pose if you are relaxed.  Know the mood and message you want to portray.  A candid photo will tell something about you.

4. Glam it up inner cosmo- Give a peek into your personality. Elicit a natural smile.  Consider a unique camera angle or highlight a portion of an over-all image to lend some mystery.  Show that you are creative even if the photo is more serious in nature.

5. Editing Options Experiment with software tools, take out “red-eye”, crop to the correct size for your thumbnail options.  Obtain all of the release and credit information needed to use the photo in a post or elsewhere.

Veronica Campos-Hallstrom

It may have seemed easy up until this point to snap a quick photo and slap it into the profile section of your social media site.  Now with these points to ponder, I may have given you a few more things to fret about.  Not to worry though…all of these ideas will give you a great outcome with the addition of the perfect subject matter YOU!

In personal or business use,  a creative approach in photography will represent you in the best ways.  What are you waiting for?  Smile for the camera!

My blog photos were taken by a talented photographer: Melissa Russell,  NC

Melissa and Company Photography

http://www.melissaandcophotography.com

12 Responses to “FEATURE FRIDAY- Picture This”

  1. clubcreativestudio March 17, 2011 at 1:05 PM #

    Sending smiles. I encourage updating photos now because of all of the options that can be considered. I will probably always hate being on the other side of the camera but, it is important to allow others to see a glimpse of you and your personality from time to time.

  2. clubcreativestudio March 13, 2011 at 10:55 AM #

    Paula, believe me when I say I (was) right there with you as far as waiting and then wanting “magic” to help me as well! But, it is funny to hear now because I learned that there are many options here. Really, using your creativity (or the creative ideas of the photographer) you can easily focus on the activity, the pose, the colors, the IDEA that you want to convey just as much as the face. A typical head shot is just that…focus on your face, mostly mid-chest up but, that does not mean that they have to take a close-up of you. Take some time to scope out what people have already done that you like. I often am drawn to photos that are off centered (that is the artist in me) with high contrast. Start paying more attention to the pictures you see in profiles, on websites and in the “About Us” sections. Then just have a photo session and see what comes out of it after you tell them exactly what you want to capture. It does make a difference when you can show the inner you from a tiny thumbnail photo and realize that it is just that- we’re not talking poster sized images here. Good Luck, my vote is to be brave and have fun getting the right shot.

  3. Paula Lee Bright March 13, 2011 at 9:50 AM #

    This post was timed perfectly for me! I’ve been putting it off for months now, but it is finally time as I am really starting to gather a small gaggle of followers.

    I am just not happy with my looks right now! I wish there were something magical I could do, wave a wand and make myself more—uh—??do I mean young??! I think I do, and that ain’t gonna happen!

    I’ve bookmarked it and will return to review it all before I go to my appointment. Thank you!

  4. Roberta March 12, 2011 at 8:21 PM #

    Write a great bio now to go with that great photo. Very creative and funky. Suits the niche

  5. clubcreativestudio March 12, 2011 at 4:30 PM #

    Thank you, it was stressful and fun at the same time to do this. The best part came when I saw the proofs- I remember what I was thinking or what she said on most photos and that will give me a chuckle and memeory every time I look at them.

  6. clubcreativestudio March 12, 2011 at 4:28 PM #

    Funny, Maureen, when I was at the shoot, all I kept thinking was, I HAVE to write about this when I am done! The intention being to help or inspire anyone who hates having photos taken to get them done. I learned so much about myself…not to mention an appreciation for those on the show: America’s Top Model, or anyone that feels comfortable naturally in front of a camera lens.

  7. clubcreativestudio March 12, 2011 at 4:24 PM #

    I hope you do because it is a valuable learning experience just to be on the other side of a camera. I told my photographer that it was very close to being “painful”. With that said she was extra patient with me, I am sure. Impressions are important. In busines, many want to identify and a photograph is a small way to make a lasting impression and human connection. I will be looking for you to be brave one day and get this experience under your belt.

  8. clubcreativestudio March 12, 2011 at 4:18 PM #

    Hope that this helps anyone looking to make a change in their profile photos. I think it is important to get the shot that you want that will convey the message you want. Thanks for checking this out and giving your stamp of approval to the points offered.

  9. Kristen Robinson March 12, 2011 at 1:11 PM #

    Great post Veronica! Many people don’t stop and consider what it takes to get a professional shot taken. I didn’t. So many factors come into play and thanks for sharing and addressing them!

  10. Melanie Kissell March 12, 2011 at 8:13 AM #

    I’ve been wanting to have some new photos taken … forever! But I’ll have to admit I’m one of those gals that loves to take other people’s pictures and HATES to have my own taken.

    Thanks for such a big and lovely chunk of inspiration and creativity, Veronica! Who knows? I may even get brave enough to have my picture taken. 🙂

  11. Maureen Hunter March 12, 2011 at 4:54 AM #

    Veronica, I love your new photos – they look fantastic.

    For a long time now I have considered getting some professional pics done but have put it off. When I do I will now be ready with some tips in hand.
    I especially like show your inner cosmo and having some different clothes on hand.
    Thanks so much for sharing, I would never have thought to turn this into an article…so so valuable

  12. Sweepy Jean March 12, 2011 at 2:14 AM #

    Love the new photos, Veronica. Beautiful. I can see how you embodied each of the points above, including your choice of clothing and your sense of fun. Melissa Russell did a great job, but then again, she had a great subject!

Please shout out your views here!

