Calling 4 Creativity

1 Mar

IT’S TWO CENT TUESDAY!

This means that today, I offer information that is low-cost and inspiring for you to become creative.  Are you ready?  ART you ready?

In this post, I invite you to share your creative experience. You can write a comment, tell me about your ideas and/or efforts or send me a “G” rated photo of your art project utilizing your found materials.  Show off what you have accomplished with your creativity.  It is a fun assignment.  A challenge for you to accept.  An interactive way to test your creativity.  An opportunity to learn and develop your ability to stretch your mind, or to see what someone else came up with.

I was first inspired to form this blog topic from a housekeeping task…I was cleaning out a kitchen drawer.  In doing so, I thought to myself, geez…there are so many random items stuck in this drawer.  What could have possibly possessed me to keep hold of this item? Did I think that I might use this in some form or manner in the future? Should I throw this item away today?  Random items sometimes can clutter our lives but,  you can truly use something in a project if you have a stash of good resources around.

Club Creative Studio Creative Challenge

In the photo, I have placed a few random items out on the counter.  Looking at them at first, you may think one of two things:
 
1.  What would anyone do with any of those items besides throw them in the trash?
 
2. What a wonderful array of random items that can be transformed!
 
Which number can you relate to the most?
 
While it is always helpful to de-clutter and keep a tidy drawer, it is also important to have on hand low-cost or common items that can be used by anyone in the home to become more creative.  If you have children in particular, you can foster their creative talents by offering a whole drawer dedicated to random items that they are always allowed to roam for items to use in projects.  It is an “open door”, or “open-drawer”, if you will to fostering and developing their creative problem solving and expressive side.  That type of right-sided brain activity is great for them to become a more well-rounded person.  Try this.
With the suggested items above to include buttons, paper clips, scrap papers, thread, pop sickle sticks, markers, cup cake liner, paper hole punch, toilet paper roll, envelope, plastic lids, candy, toothpicks, and an empty K- cup or two- what can YOU do creatively?
 
 
Suggested Activity:
Considering using items in the photo that  may also be available in your home, to decide what you might do creatively with a single item, or a combination of a few, or maybe all of them in one product.  You may add other items and you may use any supplies you like in addition to what is pictured.  No rules here just challenge yourself or another person to be creative with what they have in front of them to work with.
 
If you are not the hands-on type, or don’t have time or resources, feel free to just describe as a comment and response to this post what your ideas are.  If you have thoughts that could be implemented but this challenge is too time consuming for you, I welcome your thoughts even your words here are part of the creative process and an exercise unto itself.
 
I will also take the challenge and by the next TWO CENT TUESDAY, I will have my own submissions for you to appreciate.  Happy creating and I do hope that you have time to participate in some form.  This experience will hopefully spark laughter and growth.
 
Remember:  Try as I do:  BE CREATIVE EVERYDAY!  Good Luck and thank you  for your participation. There is no time limit imposed.
 
 
9 Responses to “Calling 4 Creativity”

  1. clubcreativestudio March 2, 2011 at 1:35 PM #

    There are endless things that you can do to make a house a home and refresh what you have for a new look and fit into a new style. I am happy that I have inspired you and in turn…you have inspired me…to post a new blog on low-cost ideas for a quick spruce-up. You may want to check back from time to time for that. My wheels are already spinning!

  2. Melissa March 2, 2011 at 3:16 AM #

    GREAT IDEA! I HAVE been doing this a lot. We just bought a new house, and we are doing a bunch of renovations. And I have been spending a lot of my time trying to repurpose the things we have in this house, but use them differently to look “new” in the new house. It has been sooo fun to see what I come up with. I have also been in my Dad’s basement looking at old furniture that I can make come alive again. Saves money, and keeps things out of the dumpsters. 🙂

  3. clubcreativestudio March 1, 2011 at 5:16 PM #

    ‘You Go Girl’- make the most of your day or spare time and create something that will make you smile.

  4. clubcreativestudio March 1, 2011 at 5:15 PM #

    Kids make the best and most uninhibited creations with found objects because they add so much more than the materials when creating- they use their soaring imagination to elaborate what they have made.

  5. clubcreativestudio March 1, 2011 at 5:12 PM #

    It was a great poem and I pictured the items one by one in a visual scan around a room while reading it. So happy to be of inspiration in someone’s day. Keep up the good work- being creative.

  6. Sweepy Jean March 1, 2011 at 12:41 PM #

    Hi, Veronica. I used your idea as inspiration for my latest blog post. It’s a poem using found objects. I included two of the items in your photo.
    http://sweepyjean.wordpress.com/2011/03/01/bedroom-poem
    Thanks for your creativity and inspiration.

  7. Leona March 1, 2011 at 12:13 PM #

    Great post to open our minds creatively! Being a mom of two young kids that love making crafts I’m sure my kids could take those items and make something easy enough! Been there done that.

    Can’t wait till next week to see what you do!

  8. Eleanor March 1, 2011 at 11:46 AM #

    Hi,
    This post has just inspired me to pull out old jewellery and revamp it. Getting out my tools,
    Thanks,
    Eleanor

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bedroom (poem) « Sweepy Jean Explores the (Webby) World 3.0 - March 1, 2011

    […] poem was inspired by a post from fellow blogger Veronica Campos-Hallstrom of Creative Club Studio. She encouraged her readers to be creative with found objects. I looked around where I was sitting […]

Please shout out your views here!

