Feature Friday- My Hand-Made Crystal Pendants

25 Feb

It’s Feature Friday!

 
 

Copyright: Club Creative Studio- mixed media crystal pendants

Many times I create my own pendants to use as focal points in my hand-made jewelry items.  It is another way to insert even more unique, one-of-a-kind elements into my art.

The initial idea came to me to use a variety of methods on the backside of a crystal to add color and magnify a design.  My Mother has what she calls a “crystal tree” in her home.  It is actually a spray painted large branch from a tree and she has it resting in a secure pot.  The crystal tree is adorned with various shapes of crystals and white lights.  It’s a very reflective item during the day as the prisms dance around the room and it is a glowing item at night as the soft lights reflect off of the crystals and add even more sparkle.
The images in the photo are hand-made with a variety of materials.  For the main element, some are made from lead crystal, some are glass, and some are strong acrylic shapes.  I am not at liberty to give away the method of how I create the pendants but, I will mention that they are mixed media works of art. 
The completed designs include combinations of paint, paper, ink, rubber  stampings, hand drawings, colored pencils, and permanent markers. I love combining our hand-rolled clay beads with this look.  It shouts out as an instant statement piece.  I love the bold look they convey, and I also enjoy that they have magnified color and are very unique!

Created by hand: Club Creative Studio

7 Responses to “Feature Friday- My Hand-Made Crystal Pendants”

  1. clubcreativestudio March 1, 2011 at 2:20 AM #

    I love to experiment and learn from all of the “happy accidents”! Thanks for the view.

  2. clubcreativestudio March 1, 2011 at 2:19 AM #

    Thank you Melissa- I hope that I get across that there is love put into all of the pieces I create. I do want the beauty to shine through on many different levels.

  3. clubcreativestudio March 1, 2011 at 2:17 AM #

    Thanks Maureen. I have never thought of my “Mom” as a “Mum” before but, this is one aspect of what I love about connecting with people from all over the world!

  4. Sweepy Jean February 27, 2011 at 1:22 PM #

    These are gorgeous! It’s amazing the effect you get when combining different mediums.

  5. melissaaustin February 25, 2011 at 11:03 PM #

    Beautiful work Veronica!

  6. Maureen Hunter February 25, 2011 at 2:35 PM #

    They look absolutely amazing Veronica,so unique and creative, but that is what artists like you do, and which I so admire – that wonderful gift to manipulate many different mediums to create beauty and inspiration. What a great idea of your Mums to have a crystal tree, I bet it looks wonderful.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Handmade Crystal Jewelry - March 1, 2011

    […] Feature Friday- My Hand-Made Crystal Pendants « . in my hand-made jewelry items. It is another way to insert even more unique, one-of-a-kind elements into my art. The initial idea came to me to use a variety of methods on the backside of a crystal to add color and magnify a design. […]

Please shout out your views here!

