FEATURE FRIDAY

18 Feb

Feature Friday: 3-D Bezel Pendants

Club Creative Studio has a mantra that encourages creativity.  It’s  a welcome challenge to: Be Creative Everyday.  At times ideas come easily and at times, I have to hunt for them.  At any rate, I understand that inspiration abounds and I have learned to recognize and foster it, no matter the origin of the first spark.

I am always looking for new ways to incorporate my hand-made clay beads and hand- torched glass beads.  Jewelry is the main focus however, I create fun and functional beaded items as accessories, and in home decor as well. 

As an artist, there are times that techniques don’t work out as planned and there are experiments that end in surprise.  Today’s Friday feature is a short story about a creative plan gone a rye and with time and patience, a new plan evolved creating a new artistic endeavor.

My initial idea for our 3-D  creations could be described as “flat beads”.  I formed layers of clay cane slices onto a square-shaped base.  I had planned to link the squares together to form a bracelet.  Each clay square base had added elements in design, layered color and texture.  Sections were embossed, stamped,painted, and inked in stages.

Club Creative Studio 3-D Bezel Pendant

The problem came when the first creation did not turn out as planned.  I didn’t care for the manner of which the links combined and so I set them aside for a long while.  I knew I had to make some changes.  My expectations changed as I discovered a new use for the many square flat beads made, a full year later.  It took me that long to find the perfect project for the creations and I am glad that I was the patient artist.

Club Creative Studio 3-D Pendant

Today:

I use my flat bead squares as foundation for multi-layered 3-D pendant bezel necklaces.

Club Creative Studio 3-D Pendant Necklaces

They are sometimes cut into a circular shape to accommodate the bezel used.  A simple wrapped cord is normally used as the strand and I simply adore making these pendants with various beads, and charms worked in to the design.  I hope that you  enjoy  wearing them as much as I enjoy making them.

Visit us to see more items: http://www.clubcreativestudio.com

To read more about these featured pendants you can also read more information on the home page in the PINK NOTE BOOK SECTION special feature of the Club Creative Studio home page.  Thank you for visiting.

7 Responses to “FEATURE FRIDAY”

  1. clubcreativestudio February 23, 2011 at 2:47 AM #

    Amen. I needed the time and I had the time. Most times art just can’t be rushed!

  2. clubcreativestudio February 23, 2011 at 2:45 AM #

    This time frame of working on something had never happened to me before so, it was a great surprise to finally have an answer come to me- a huge thrill. I am never really frustated at art- I just know when to put something down or take a break before I get to that point. I am sure that has saved me some sanity.

  3. clubcreativestudio February 23, 2011 at 2:42 AM #

    Isn’t it so rewarding in the end to know you had to work through a creative process for the results? I believe it is.

  4. Melanie Kissell February 19, 2011 at 7:42 AM #

    I love what you did with your flat beads — the end result is gorgeous. So what if a brilliant idea needed to simmer for a year?! It finally came to a full boil and just look at what you’ve created! 🙂

  5. Jenny Stamos February 19, 2011 at 6:09 AM #

    Very cool! I love the photos. And I love that this was somehow simmering in the back of your mind for months until the time was right. It seems like an illustration of “perfectly imperfect”–your creation became perfect exactly when it was meant to, although it must have caused you much frustration at the time!

  6. Sweepy Jean February 19, 2011 at 3:09 AM #

    Wow, the 3D pendants are beautiful, Veronica! I think with any type of art there is trial and error until you get it right! I’m glad you stuck with your vision.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention FEATURE FRIDAY « -- Topsy.com - February 18, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by V. Campos-Hallstrom, V. Campos-Hallstrom. V. Campos-Hallstrom said: FEATURE FRIDAY 3-D Pendants http://wp.me/p1gIrG-69 […]

Please shout out your views here!

