Going To Bead…or Bust!

8 Feb

I am going bead… or bust!

I have the need to bead.

I will bead…or… I will explode!

Reality at hand, I did bead AND I did “bust”…figuratively. 

My local artist group in North Carolina:  Coastal Carolina Artists & Crafters Guild (http://www.ccacguild.org), hosts a few annual events each year.  This year during two separate events we will utilize the artistic talents of the community to raise awareness for cancer.  At the Relay for Life and the May Spring Craft Fair & Car Show, we are highlighting submissions for a contest to raise donated funds for breast cancer. 

I knew thatparticipation in this fund raiser was going to be a good fit for me because  A: I personally know many touched by this disease and B: it is an opportunity to mesh my creative art with a great cause.  As it has turned out, with my submission on file, the CCAC Guild has also asked  me, to allow permissions to use the image of my art to serve as inspiration and the official logo for promotions of this event.  I said yes.

We turned to a known cause to help us promote our efforts. You may or may not have heard of  BRAS FOR A CAUSE.  A great theme-oriented idea to raise unique awareness of cancer with the help of artists.  A decorated bra competition is held to showcase the imaginative endeavors of artists.  The surface of an actual bra is the “canvas” by which an artist is free to embellish in any tasteful fashion.  It  is then displayed for public viewing.  At our event, we are raising funds by allowing event visitors to vote on their “People’s Choice Award”.  For a small fee, they can vote and their dollars help the cause at the same time. Our exhibit is free to the public.

Bead Artist: Veronica Campos-Hallstrom

As you might imagine, this was a creative process that was a “no brainer” for me to plan.  On any given day; I hand-roll,  hand-torch and hand-sculpt my own beads and incorporate them into fun and functional jewelry and home decor items.  I am creative with the beads I create. 

With this project, I specifically used a vast array of  my designed beads to cover the bra cup areas.  The  photo above is the completed entry bra submission, where multi-colored metal flower brads were added in between spaces where most beads meet.   The pink ribbon charm is added for symbolic purposes.  I hope you enjoy viewing this unique item as much as I enjoyed constructing it.  It is my hopes that it gains deserved attention and will help raise funds for our BRAS for a CAUSE event.

Club Creative Studio-“Cancer…Bead It” 2011

This is the logo created with my beaded bra image. Logo design by Anna Pasquale, and used by the Coastal Carolina Artist & Crafters Guild for promotional purposes. This photo is not inclusive of the additions of metal flower brads.  It is a “before total completion” photograph, yet still stunning.

Thank you in advance of comments posted here and elsewhere on this topic and image.  I look forward to your opinions and reactions to my hand-made beaded item.  You should certainly agree it is: Art That Sets Us Apart!
F.Y.I.
If there is a request to actually purchase this bra from some famous rock star who will be able to not blink an eye at cost- there is always room for negotiations, as long as the check clears!
15 Responses to “Going To Bead…or Bust!”

  1. clubcreativestudio February 10, 2011 at 4:03 AM #

    If this creation were made of candy or gum balls- then yes, I would agree that it looks delish. But, I should place a tag disclaimer on it noting that the beads are not edible!

  2. clubcreativestudio February 10, 2011 at 3:59 AM #

    I can’t think of a more famous (author celebrity) than you!

  3. clubcreativestudio February 10, 2011 at 3:56 AM #

    This logo was made by my local art guild for promotion of our event. It’s not a “national” logo but, I am sure open for them to accept it if it would draw more attention to their cause.

  4. clubcreativestudio February 10, 2011 at 3:53 AM #

    It is great to have a captive audience for feedback. Thank you, fellow blogger!

  5. clubcreativestudio February 10, 2011 at 3:52 AM #

    Indeed…I can imagine someone famous sporting this fashionable bra around as a top for the cause, on a music video or at a concert…who else could it be, you had two good suggestions!

  6. clubcreativestudio February 10, 2011 at 3:49 AM #

    So happy to announce this event, I can’t wait to have it on display in public. If you were to see this up close, you definately would have a deeper appreciation of the beads.

  7. clubcreativestudio February 10, 2011 at 3:46 AM #

    Most people think that my beads are “painted” when they see the details and intricate designs. The various designs are accomplished by layering clays. Thanks for the view.

  8. Jennifer February 8, 2011 at 11:30 PM #

    Great post and great cause! You are a talented lady!! That’s looks very detailed!!

  9. Jenny Stamos February 8, 2011 at 10:58 PM #

    So, stunning–especially with the hot pink bra peeking out from beneath the beads!

    This is amazing–to use your art and talent to promote such an important cause. Thanks for sharing, and good luck with the rock stars. Can’t you just see Gwen or Fergie wearing this in a print campaign for breast cancer awareness? Wow!

  10. Melanie Kissell February 8, 2011 at 8:13 PM #

    Oh, Veronica! You’re coming out of the TLC Club gate with a real attention-getter! (and for an extremely worthwhile cause)

    Create On!

  11. Melissa Austin February 8, 2011 at 8:05 PM #

    Great post!!! What an awesome idea!! Great getting to know you thru TLC 🙂

  12. S. Rogers February 8, 2011 at 3:31 PM #

    Nice job, V, and what a great cause! Congrats on your design being chosen for their logo!

  13. K. L. Stewart February 8, 2011 at 2:57 PM #

    Love it! It is so intricate and beautiful! If I were a celebrity that had the money, I would not hesitate to purchase it. I know it makes you feel great to combine your creativity with such a great cause. This art is amazing!

  14. Leanne Chesser February 8, 2011 at 2:56 PM #

    What a great idea to use people’s artistic talents to raise awareness for cancer! Congratulations for your image being used as the official logo! I love your design!

  15. Hajra February 8, 2011 at 2:50 PM #

    This looks delicious (pun intended!)…

    You have some very interesting posts here….looking forward to read more!

    Great knowing you through TLC!

Please shout out your views here!

